About Us

The Vancouver Maritime Museum is located on the unceded territories of the xʷməθkwəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and səlilwətaɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations in Vancouver British Columbia, Canada.

For over 60 years, the Vancouver Maritime Museum has been sharing stories about the Pacific Northwest and the Arctic and creating experiences that build bridges between the past and future.

We invite a diverse range of voices to share their perspectives, providing a place of connection and community and building a shared sense of belonging.

Credits and Acknowledgments

This online project was developed with the support of the Digital Museums Canada investment program. Digital Museums Canada is managed by the Canadian Museum of History, with the financial support of the Government of Canada.

The Vancouver Maritime Museum gratefully acknowledges the financial investment by the Canadian Museum of History in the creation of this online presentation for the Digital Museums Canada.

The Changing Perspectives exhibit was created between 2018 and 2022 by the exhibit team and a host of other individuals, donors, and project partners to piece together these stories.


Project Lead & Historical Researcher - Tim Bateman

Video Direction and Production – Paul Lowey

Website Design and Development – Graham Douglas

Indigenous Research Consultant and Interviewer - Dylan Burrows

Mowachaht/Muchalaht Exhibit Lead - Margaretta James

Heiltsuk Exhibit Lead - Elroy White

Learning Resource Development - Andrea Lucy

Mowachaht/Muchalaht Learning Resource Development – Joni Johnson

Voiceover Narration

Vancouver Maritime Museum

Executive Director – David Jordan

Curator – Duncan Macleod

Program Coordinator – Kanchan Lal

Steering Committee

Professor Coll Thrush

Dr. Sue Rowley

Dr. Jennifer Kramer

French Translation

Patricia Raynault-Desgagné


Heiltsuk Integrated Resource Management Department

Mowachaht/Muchalaht First Nation

Museum of Anthropology at UBC

Thank-you to the following academic consultants: Stephen Bown, Dr. Robin Fisher, Dr. Sharon Fortney, Robin Inglis, Dr. John Lutz, Dr. John Price, Dr. Paige Raibmon, Cynthia Updegrave, Dr. Eldon Yellowhorn.

Thank-you to the following European and Indigenous artists: Steve Biesty, Shirl Hall, Gord Hill, John Horton, Steven Mayo, Gordon Miller, Mark Myers, Sandford Williams

Thank-you to the following individuals: Christopher Ball, Connie Chan, Julie Colero, Gillian Darling, Kelly Douglas, Sharon Doyle, Roger Dunlop, Tom Froh, Stephen Gillis, Emma Harris, Meigan Henry, William Housty, Jack Johnson, Katherine Kalsbeek, Erika Kinach, Kelina Kwan, David Lampron, Isabella Losinger, Bruce Macdonald, Bob Martin, John McKay, Iain McKechnie, Paul Milaire, Reg Moody, Clare Newlands, Geralie Oba-Underwood, Lucian Ploias, Devon Rhys, Matthew Richardson, Mike Ritchie, Larissa Ringham,Gary Rosborough, Zachary Rothman, Gatlin Saip, Sheila Savey, Chelsea Shriver, Skipper Brendan and the crew of the Lady Washington, Kevin Starr, Tanis Wilkie.

Thank-you to the following organizations: Grays Harbor Historical Seaport, Hakai Magazine, Shearwater Boat Charter, UBC Library and Special Collections, UBC Faculty of Medicine, UBC Faculty of Education Library.

Copyright statement

All content on this website is protected by Canada's Copyright Act and other international conventions. Any reproduction, representation or transmission, in part or in whole, of the content of this website (i.e. texts, photographs, videos, music, voices, etc.) is not permitted without the express written consent of the Vancouver Maritime Museum and any copyright holders. The use of this content is permitted for research and private use, and for purposes granted by law. Digital modification of the content (i.e. alterations, cropping, additions, superimposing of graphic elements, modifying the colours, etc.) is strictly forbidden.

The use of this site and its contents is authorized for educational purposes by teachers and students, as well as for private study and research purposes.